“If God leads you to it, He will lead you through it!”

This words are powerful enough to convince me on my existence here in a “strange” land called Malaysia. Strange because everything is different from the things that I used to do, things that I used to say, and things that I used to be. And it is true enough that if you are not in your comfort zone, chances are, you will really learn a lot, as in a LOT! At first, all I know is that i am just here to study, something that God allowed it to happen because I thought this is just what He wants for me. But later on, I realized that this is not just what He wants or His plan/purpose in my life here. Rather, it is something that will lead me more to TRUSTING HIM ALONE and EXPERIENCING HIM through His simple ways of showing me miracles.

From the day I came here, never did I experience having trouble with something or someone, because I believe He directs and leads me always to the right people – new found friends, adviser and lecturers, cafeteria pips, taxi drivers, chruchmates and even by-standers in the campus (who really helped me a lot in giving directions to where to go and what to do next).

new found friends (Gelareh and Farzaneh)

my classmates - su-ynn and samaneh

ACTS Church friends - shobi, shu-en, kjin, carol

schoolmate in college degree (but God brought us together here - at dito lang kami nagkakilala) - mafel

Also, what makes me more thankful is that I was able to find a Christian group/ministry here in the University and it is really such a comforting feeling to be part of a Christian family.๐Ÿ™‚

a Christian group in UPM

TGIF Night - activity of IK

Also, He also allowed me to see beautiful places and see new wonderful things that not even a single word can describe the feeling.

On my way to my Faculti (we call it college in the Philippines), there is this short-cut where I can see a lot of species like birds, dragonflies, monitor lizards (bayawak), and small fishes and snails in the pond. It really amazes me everytime i see it and the feeling of amazement makes me GLORIFY AND WORSHIP HIM MORE.

the pond (on my way to the faculti-the short-cut)

On the other hand, food here is quite different from the Philippines. Maybe because of the curry and other spices added in their dishes. Nevertheless, little by little, I am learning to love it. I have tried the Nasi Goreng (fried rice), Nasi Ayam (Chicken Rice), Nasi Goreng Kampung (fried rice with anchovies and other spices), and of course the official food here, Nasi Lemak.

the national dish and national heritage of Malaysia. this comes as a platter of food wrapped in banana leaves, with cucumber slices, small fried anchovies (ikan bilis), roasted peanuts, hard boiled egg, and hot spicy sauce (sambal) at its core.

Aside from Malaysian cuisine, I have also tried other’s as well…

Roti Telur (egg). A type of Indian-influenced flat bread found in Malaysia and Indonesia composed of dough containing copious amounts of fat, egg, flour and water (although eggless vegan versions do exist). Roti means bread and the dhal is the sauce made of curry and different spices.

Kebab Koobideh - very delicious persian meal

So there, a few of the many food variations here in Malaysia. Hopefully, in the next few days I can share to you also some Chinese and more Indian specialties.

I have been here for two months and it seems like I’ve been here for two years already. Everything seems strange at first but now, am starting to feel at home. After all, life is a matter of perspective.

It is not easy to live in a foreign land, especially if it is a Muslim country. Too many restrictions, too many adjustments. However, I can say that because of MY GOD, i am able to survive my day to day routine here.

Sharing to you my life verse as I am holding on to this promise: Joshua 1:9 “Be strong and courageous. For the Lord your God is with you wherever you go.”

GodBless everyone!

Categories: Blogroll, faith, food, life, love, relationships, trip | Tags: , , , , , , , , | 9 Comments

Post navigation

9 thoughts on ““If God leads you to it, He will lead you through it!”

  1. thanks for subscribing to my blog!

    I also hope to visit other countries like you do. But I have to really notice more the food part:

    I tried Nasi Lemak though I ‘liked’ it but I guess it wasn’t given much justice since it is a small food stall in SM. And oh how I am craving for Indian foods!

    Joshua 1:9 โ€œBe strong and courageous. For the Lord your God is with you wherever you go.โ€
    ๐Ÿ˜€

    • ah i see… pag dito ka, they really give you big servings ng food kahit anong klase pa maski fastfood.๐Ÿ™‚ the best ang roti canai or roti telur, kht yun lang kainin mo mabubusog ka na talaga.

      ipon ipon lang makakagala ka rin sa ibang bansa… then, there you will see God’s other beautiful creations… maaamaze ka nalang ganyan. hehe.

      anyway, thanks for dropping by. GodBless!๐Ÿ™‚

  2. yhen ang sarap ng mga food… ang dami mo nang napuntahan!

  3. awesome! welcoming you to Malaysia๐Ÿ™‚ well, i know it’s hard living in a Muslim country but have faith though.

    • Hi thank you.

      I am actually enjoying my stay here.. it really feels like home.๐Ÿ™‚

      Have a wonderful day to you๐Ÿ™‚ GodBless!

  4. Mukhang happy ka sa community mo Yhen! Enjoy the strange land- Malaysia!

  5. Haley

    thank you so much. this really hit home.โค๏ธ

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

